Topics

Thurs SPDX General Meeting (with special guest speaker) Reminder


Philip Odence
 

We are fortunate to have Pedro Giffuni speaking with us on Thursday. Pedro is a Mechanical Engineer by profession but has been using FreeBSD since 1997, and eventually became a project committer in 2012. As part of his involvement in FreeBSD he also became an OpenOffice developer and was involved in the transition from a copyleft project under Oracle's umbrella to a permissively licensed project in order to become an Apache Software Foundation Top Level Project.

Outline of the talk:
- How is Licensing handled in Open Source projects.
- About FreeBSD and it's objectives.
- Why SPDX is important to FreeBSD.
- Strategy for adoption.
- Progress Report.
- Practical issues.
- Open questions.
_______

 

Apologies, I have had a conflict arise, so Gary will be hosting.

 

GENERAL MEETING

 

Meeting Time: Thurs, Dec 7, 8am PDT / 10 am CDT / 11am EDT / 15:00 UTC. http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html


Conf call dial-in:

New dial in number: 415-881-1586

No PIN needed

The weblink for screenshare will stay the same at: 
http://uberconference.com/SPDXTeam

 

Administrative Agenda

Attendance

Minutes Approval: https://wiki.spdx.org/view/General_Meeting/Minutes/2017-11-02

Guest Presenation – Pedro

 

Technical Team Report – Kate/Gary

 

Legal Team Report – Jilayne/Paul

 

Outreach Team Report – Jack

 

Cross Functional Issues –All