SPDX Thurs General Meeting Reminder


Phil Odence
 

This month’s presentation will be one of the every popular reports on a Google Summer of Code project:

 

Project Title: NTIA Conformance Checker – Josh Lin

 

Project Abstract: This project implemented an NTIA Conformance Checker that checks whether a software bill of materials (SBOM) in SPDX format conforms to the NTIA’s Minimum elements guidance.

 

Project Overview: The minimum constituent parts of an overall Software Bill of Material (SBOM) – referred to as NTIA’s minimum elements – are three broad, interrelated areas (Data Fields, Automation Support, and Practices and Processes). These elements will enable an evolving approach to software transparency, capturing both the technology and the functional operation. The purpose of this project is to check if an SBOM document contains the minimum required data fields such as the supplier name, component name, component version, unique identifiers, dependency relationships, author of the SBOM, and timestamps.

 

About Josh:

I am a 2nd year computer science student at University British Columbia and I am currently on a co-op term. I participated in Google Summer of Code 2022 as an open source contributor and it was through this program that I built the NTIA Conformance Checker under the guidance of my mentors Jeff, Nisha, Gary, and Kate.  

 

 

GENERAL MEETING

 

Meeting Time: Thurs, Oct 3, 8am PT / 10 am CT / 11am ET / 15:00 UTC. http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html


Conf call dial-in:

Join the meeting:
https://meet.jit.si/SPDXGeneralMeeting

To join by phone instead, tap this: +1.512.647.1431,,1310118349#

Looking for a different dial-in number?
See meeting dial-in numbers: 
https://meet.jit.si/static/dialInInfo.html?room=SPDXGeneralMeeting


If also dialing-in through a room phone, join without connecting to audio: 
https://meet.jit.si/SPDXGeneralMeeting#config.startSilent=true

 

Etherpad for minutes:

https://spdx.swinslow.net/p/spdx-general-minutes

 

Administrative Agenda

Attendance

Minutes Approval: https://github.com/spdx/meetings/blob/main/general/2022-09-01.md

 

Steering Committee Update – Phil

 

GSOC Presentation  – Josh Lin

 

Technical Team Report – Gary/Others

  • Specification and Profiles
    • Overview
    • Core
    • Legal
    • Integrity
    • Defects
    • Usage and Other Emerging
  • Tooling

 

Legal Team Report – Jilayne/Paul/Steve

 

Outreach/Website Team Report – Sebastian/Alexios

 

 

 

 

Join spdx@lists.spdx.org to automatically receive all group messages.