Special Presentation and SPDX Thurs General Meeting Reminder


Phil Odence
 

Please join us for a very interesting presentation to kick off the meeting:

 

Preview of LF Study on SBOM Readiness by Steve Hendrick

Abstract:

The State of Software Bill of Materials (SBOM) and Cybersecurity Readiness, produced in partnership with SPDX, OpenChain, and OpenSSF, reports on the extent of organizational SBOM readiness and adoption and its significance to improving cybersecurity throughout the open source ecosystem. The study comes on the heels of the US Administration’s Executive Order on Improving the Nation’s Cybersecurity, and the disclosure of the most recent and far-reaching log4j security vulnerability. Its timing coincides with increasing recognition across the globe of the importance of identifying software components and helping accelerate widespread implementation of cybersecurity best practices to mitigate the impact of software vulnerabilities. 

Steve:

Steve Hendrick, who authored the SBOM readiness report, is a Vice President of research for the Linux Foundation and well traveled in application development and deployment software.  Prior to his current role at the Linux Foundation, Steve spent 30 years as an industry analyst working for IDC, ESG, and EMA driving application development and deployment research. Steve has authored over 1,000 research reports and served as primary investigator on over 100 surveys.

 

GENERAL MEETING

 

Meeting Time: Thurs, Feb3, 8am PT / 10 am CT / 11am ET / 15:00 UTC. http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html


Conf call dial-in:

Join the meeting:
https://meet.jit.si/SPDXGeneralMeeting

To join by phone instead, tap this: +1.512.647.1431,,1310118349#

Looking for a different dial-in number?
See meeting dial-in numbers:
 https://meet.jit.si/static/dialInInfo.html?room=SPDXGeneralMeeting


If also dialing-in through a room phone, join without connecting to audio:
 https://meet.jit.si/SPDXGeneralMeeting#config.startSilent=true

 

Etherpad for minutes:

https://spdx.swinslow.net/p/spdx-general-minutes

 

Administrative Agenda

Attendance

Minutes Approval https://github.com/spdx/meetings/blob/master/general/2022-01-06.md

 

Special Presentation – SteveH

 

Technical Team Report – Kate/Gary/Others

  • Specification and Profiles
    • Overview
    • Core
    • Legal
    • Integrity
    • Defects
    • Usage and Other Emerging
  • Tooling

 

Legal Team Report – Jilayne/Paul/Steve

 

Outreach/Website Team Report – Jack 

 

Join spdx@lists.spdx.org to automatically receive all group messages.